British Sign Language Online Course

Before I started my volunteering at Treloar’s College for Disabled Children, partly in the hope of communicating with deaf students, I signed up for a basic British Sign Language course online (http://www.british-sign.co.uk/), which I have now completed. I have enjoyed spending a few hours a week learning how to talk about colours, numbers, hobbies, jobs, etc., although I have not been able to sign with anyone extensively so far. I think that sign language, along with first aid, is a skill that everyone – not just people with medical interests – should learn. I try to re-revise sections of the course from time to time in order to make sure I don’t forget any of it. I am really hoping to put it into practice one day.

bsl

Leave a Reply

